The Complete Brambly Hedge

Author(s): Jill Barklem

Picture Books

The mice of Brambly Hedge have been delighting adults and children alike for more than thirty years. All eight of the classic picture books are brought together in this exquisite volume. The mice of Brambly Hedge made their first appearance in 1980 when the four seasonal stories were published. Ever since, readers have loved exploring the miniature world of the hedgerow and meeting the families that live there. In this collection the mice have many adventures, but they always have time for fun and relaxation too. Whatever the season, and whether they are by the sea, in the High Hills, or simply at home by the fire, there is always someone ready to lend a helping hand. Contains: Spring Story, Summer Story, Autumn Story, Winter Story, Poppy's Babies, Sea Story, The High Hills, The Secret

Product Information

"The most researched-crammed fantasy ever set before small children!" Sunday Times Magazine

Jill Barklem was born in Epping and led a quiet childhood enjoying being close to nature. On leaving school, she studied illustration at St Martin's in London. The inspiration for Brambly Hedge appeared during Jill's daily train journey between Epping and London: shutting herself off from the outside world, she became obsessed with the way of life of a band of hedgerow mice, later to be developed as the world of Brambly Hedge. Jill still lives in Epping, Essex.

General Fields

  • : 9780007450169
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • : Harper Element
  • : 1.01
  • : October 2011
  • : 252mm X 195mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jill Barklem
  • : Hardback
  • : 2011
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : 248
  • : chiefly col. Illustrations